Important Dates

SPRING 2022

Spring Semester

Classes begin on Monday, January 10.

Student Move-In

  • First year and new transfer students for spring 2022 will move in Friday, January 7*.
  • Returning students will move in on Saturday and Sunday, January 8 & 9.

*First year and new transfer students, who are participating in orientation on January 7, can move in from 1-4 pm on Thursday, January 6 OR the morning of January 7. If the student chooses to move in on Thursday afternoon, they must complete the early arrival request form AFTER they have a room assignment.

The University is requiring that ALL residential students show proof of a negative Covid test, taken no more than 72 hours, prior to returning to campus. Students should upload negative test results to their student health portal OR at covid@unca.edu. Students will not be allowed to return to the residence halls without proof of a negative Covid test. For more information, regarding testing, please contact Health and Counseling Services at 828-251-6520.

Spring Break

Spring Break is Monday, March 7 – Friday March 11. The residence halls will remain open during the break, but there is no food service on campus during this time.

Summer Break

Spring exams will end on Wednesday, May 4. Students are required to vacate the residence halls 24 hours after their final exam or by 9 a.m. on Thursday, May 5, whichever occurs first. The residence halls will close at 9 a.m. on Thursday, May 5.

 

 

Fall 2022

Fall Semester

Classes begin on Monday, August 15.

Student Move-In

  • First year and new transfer students for fall 2022 will move in Wednesday, August 10.
  • Returning students will move in on Saturday and Sunday, August 13 & 14.

Fall Break

Monday, October 3 and Tuesday, October 4 – no classes. Residence halls will remain open.

Thanksgiving Break

The university will be closed Wednesday, November 23 – Sunday, November 27 for Thanksgiving holidays. The residence halls will remain open during the break, but there is no food service on campus during this time.

Winter Break

Fall exams will end on Wednesday, December 7.  Students are required to vacate the residence halls 24 hours after their final exam or by 9 a.m. on Thursday, December 8, whichever occurs first. The residence halls will close at 9 a.m. on Thursday, December 8.

Please visit the Registrar’s page to view the full academic calendar.